“Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God — this is your spiritual act of worship. Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is — his good, pleasing and perfect will.” (Romans 12:1-2)

I have been practicing yoga for years and always loved the physical workout and the rejuvenation I felt afterwards, but was uncomfortable with the spiritual intention behind many classes. When I gave my life to Jesus Christ at age 21, after many years of seeking the truth in religion and spirituality, I swore never to bow down to another idol or false religion, and there was no way I was about to let a form of exercise lead me into that direction. Jesus is “the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through [him].” (John 14:16). I hold on to this Word with everything that I am, and make a daily effort to use discernment on whether the things that I do, say, and think are of this world, or of the Kingdom.

When my husband and I first started dating, we went to a yoga class and upon noticing my experience, he suggested that I become a certified instructor. I scoffed at the idea, thinking first of all, I wouldn’t make a great teacher (I can be quite shy); and second of all, I don’t want to encourage what I felt was somewhat against my moral and spiritual beliefs.

Fast forward two years and we are newly married, and living in a new city. God has put on my heart to find my passion, my calling, and serve others for His Kingdom. I spent many months in prayer and quite honestly was frustrated at what I felt was God’s silence.  One day, while online searching for Christian Nutrition courses, I stumbled upon the Holy Yoga website. As I curiously browsed through the site, I was blown away by the possibility of practicing and TEACHING yoga that specifically worships Jesus Christ. The more I learned about this form of yoga, the more of a stirring I felt the Holy Spirit ignite inside of me! All along, I had been looking so diligently to find something that He had spoken through my husband years ago.

The more I spoke with family and friends, the more it confirmed that this was something I HAD to do! Tomorrow marks the beginning of my online training portion of the course, with a week-long retreat to follow in October, and I am so excited for what God has in store! The more I learn about yoga, about worshiping God, and about this Holy Yoga program, the more passionate I become about sharing the love of Jesus with others! As controversial as this topic may be among Christians, I know that when God speaks, we are called to MOVE into action of His direction. To step out in faith. To be bold and unapologetic about our faith and our anointing. Without a shadow of a doubt, I know God is calling me, and is calling YOU to something greater than we can even imagine! As long as we keep our eyes on Him and our hearts open to His guidance, remember God’s promise that, “in all things God works for good of those who love him, who have been called according to His purpose” (Romans 8:28).

Thanks for sharing on this journey with me. I pray your eyes will be opened to a whole new way to worship God through body, mind, and Spirit! Until next time, God bless and may His peace and love be with you!

XO,

Marley

Here are a few experts from the book, Holy Yoga, by founder Brooke Boon, that I found really help to explain what this Christ-worshipping form of yoga is truly about:

  • The Holy Yoga experience is a time of Worship, praise, and connection to Christ, practiced to contemporary Christian music. It teaches us to take time to love, nature, accept, heal, and grow in His Word and His Spirit.
  • For something to be Holy, it must be “dedicated or devoted to the service or worship of God, the church, or religion.”
  • While enlightenment traditionally refers to a deep experience of the core of the self, as Christians, we are seeking communion with Christ. This does, of course, entail a more profound knowledge of the self. But awareness is not our final goal: Christ-awareness is!
  • Having an appropriate purpose in the practice of a discipline is what make it holy, or not.

